## Department Commanders of the Department of New Mexico, Grand Army of the Republic

H. H. (Herman) Heath, 1868—Santa Fe

(Provisional Department)

G. A. (Gustavus) Smith—1872—Santa Fe

(Provisional Department)<sup>1</sup>

Henry M. Atkinson, 1883—Santa Fe

Edward W. Wynkoop, 1884—Santa Fe

J. J. Fitzgerrell, 1885— Las Vegas

E. S. (Elias) Stover, 1886— Albuquerque

John Y. Hewitt. 1887—White Oaks

Francis Downs, 1888—Santa Fe

John H. Mills, 1889—Socorro (Died in office)

Lee H. Rudisille, 1890— White Oaks<sup>2</sup>

Alex M. Whitcomb, 1890— Albuquerque

Albert J. Fountain, 1891—Las Cruces

Stephen W. Dorsey, 1892—Raton

W. H. Whiteman, 1893— Albuquereque

George W. Knaebel, 1894—Santa Fe

Thomas W. Collier, 1895—Raton

John C. Bromagem, 1896—East Las Vegas

Francis Downs, 1897—Santa Fe

Francis Downs, 1898—Santa Fe (Died in office)

Leverett Clarke, 1898— Albuquerque<sup>3</sup>

George W. Knaebel, 1899—Santa Fe

John R. McFie, 1900—Santa Fe

John R. McFie, 1901—Santa Fe

John W. Edwards, 1902— Albuquerque

John W. Edwards, 1903— Albuquerque

Theodore W. Heman, 1904—Tucumcarri

Jacob Weltmer, 1905—Santa Fe

W. B. Brunton, 1906—Shoemaker

W. W. McDonald, 1907— Albuquerque

John P. Victory, 1908—Santa Fe

John W. Long, 1909—Tularosa

H. B. Steward, 1910— Albuquerque

A. D. Higgins, 1911—East Las Vegas

J. G. Caldwell, 1912— Albuquerque

D. M. Sutherland, 1913— Alamagardo

John A. Ross, 1914—East Las Vegas

Z. H. (Zenas) Bliss, 1915— Albuquerque

F. E. Olney, 1916—Las Vegas

Jefferson Raynolds, 1917—East Las Vegas

John W. Terry, 1918—Socorro

O. L. Gregory, 1919— Las Vegas

William M. Berger, 1920—Belen

John Shank, 1921—Las Vegas

John Greenwald, 1922—Socorro (Died in office)

John C. Hull, 1922—Santa Fe<sup>4</sup>

B. A. Jones, 1923— Albuquerque

Z. H. (Zenas) Bliss, 1924— Albuquerque

M. C. Picken, 1925—Farmington

John R. McFie, 1926—Gallup

John R. McFie, 1927—Gallup

John W. Davis, 1928—Morarity<sup>5</sup>



- 1. The Provisional Department, organized in 1868, was disbanded in 1873 and the permanent Department of New Mexico was established on July 14, 1883.
- 2. Filled the vacancy caused by the death of John Mills who died in February 1890.
- 3. Filled the vacancy caused by the death of Francis Downs who died in June 1898, after being elected department commander (for the third time) during the May 1898 Encampment.
- 4. Filled the vacancy caused by the death of John Greenwald.
- 5. John W. Davis was the last Department Commander. During the Department of New Mexico's last Encampment on July 10, 1929, only two members were present and no business could be conducted.

Complied by David A. Swanson, PDC Department of the Southwest Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War