Arizona & New Mexico GAR Videos

Memories of the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) in Arizona & New Mexico


Videos about the history of eleven GAR Posts in Arizona.

Negley Post No. 1, Tucson, Pima County. Named for Major General James S. Negley, 1826-1901, who afterwards, as Congressman from Pennsylvania, sponsored the establishment of the Pacific Branch, National Homes for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers, at Sawtelle, Los Angeles County, California.

Burnside Post No. 2, Tombstone, Cochise County. Named for Major General Ambrose Everett Burnside, 1824-81, who, as a Lieutenant, U.S. Army, served on The United States-Mexican Boundary Survey, 1848-1853; U.S. Senator from Rhode Island 1875-81.

Barrett Post No. 3, Prescott, Yavapai County. Named for Second Lieutenant James Barrett, Company A, First Cavalry Regiment, California Volunteers, who was killed in action by Confederates at Picacho Pass, Arizona Territory, April 15, 1862.

Gen. T.E.G. Ransom Post No. 4, Flagstaff, Coconino County. Named for Brigadier General Thomas Edward Greenfield Ransom, 1834-64, of Illinois who was in 15 engagements during the Civil War including the Battles of Shiloh and Champion Hills and the siege of Vicksburg, Mississippi.

J.W. Owen Post No. 5, Phoenix, Maricopa County. Named for Captain John Wren Owen, 1822-77, Company F, 7thInfantry Regiment, California Volunteers.

GAR & United Spanish War Veterans (USWV) monument, Globe Cemetery, Globe, AZ

Col. J.W.S. Alexander Post No. 6, Globe, Gila County. Named for Colonel John S. W. Alexander, who commanded the 21st Infantry Regiment, Illinois Volunteers, and who was killed at the Battle of Chickamauga, Tennessee, September 20, 1863.

John A. Logan Post No. 7, Tempe, Maricopa County. Named for Major General John Alexander Logan, 1826-86, Representative and Senator from Illinois and Republican candidate for Vice President in 1884.

A.H. Stebbins Post No. 8, Bisbee, Cochise County. Named for Asa Harvey Stebbins, 1839-89, Second Lieutenant, Company D, 44th Infantry Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteers, who was wounded at the Battle of Rawle’s Mill, North Carolina, November 2, 1861.

Fremont Post No. 9, Yuma, Yuma County. Named for Major General John Charles Frémont, 1813-1890, the explorer, who was Governor of Arizona Territory, 1878-81.

Sedgwick Post No. 10, Williams, Coconino County. Named for Major General John Sedgwick, 1813-64, who was killed at the Battle of Spotsylvania, Virginia, May 9, 1864.

George H. Thomas Post No. 11, Jerome, Yavapai County. Named for Major General George Henry Thomas, 1816-70, “The Rock of Chickamauga.”

Union Army survivors that lived in Arizona but were not mentioned in a Proceedings or Roster published by the Department of Arizona GAR.

Prior to 1924

After 1924

Note: Videos will be updated as new information is discovered. Additions, corrections or deletions to the content on this page are welcomed.  Please submit comments to [email protected].